The end really was the beginning

I spent the majority of 2006 in a personal downward spiral of self destruction. Finally, at the very end of the year, I reached a major crossroads in my life, my entire extistence hinged upon my decision. I could go one of two directions…life or death. It was in that moment, in the darkest moment of my life, that I made my choice, the choice to live. I decided that I was not going to just choose life, but that I was going to live a life well lived. I realized what many have always said…life is a gift, a gift that shoud not be wasted.

I now take my days one at a time and I handle my moments one by one. My dreams and goals have become the driving force that allows me to pull myself out of the hell hole that I allowed myself to become mired into. I realize, and am truly grateful to have a second chance to make my dreams come true and to make a positive impact on this world. My faith, famil,y and friends are the motivating factors that help me through my weak moments.

I now take pleasure in the little things…these are the things that truly make life worth living. I remind myself constantly that I cannot allow myself to become burdened down with things in life that I cannot control. It is important to stop and smell the roses and enjoy the beautiful blue skies that God blesses us with. I am determined to be as lighthearted as possible, always ready with a smile and a laugh. I want to experience all that I can experience in this life and I want to try and share it with others. I want to make sure I never forget the important things. The sky is my limit and I am determined to reach it. Along my way I want to make new friends and expand my family so that when I am gone (not until Im well pass 100) that those left behind will say, ‘she really did something positive with her life.’

My momentum is strong and I am running at full steam ahead. There will come more bumps in the road and I may break down a time or two, but this time I will not allow the obstacles to get the best of me. I know how lucky I am to still be walking this earth and I am determined to make my choice of life over death as fulfilling to myself and those I love as possible.

Leave a Reply

