Moved to Tears

I am moved to tears as I continue to follow the story of a little fighter named Stellan and his mom’s steadfast faith in God as their world continues to spin out of control. I realize just how truly blessed I am that my daughter is still with us and that her long term prognosis is good.

www.mycharmingkids.net

As I continue to find the blog’s of Christian women who have experienced difficult journies with their children (much more difficult than mine) the depth of their faith continues to amaze me. I am amazingly thankful that at the end of the day I go home to my beautiful little girl and chase her around the house. In life, those are the things that truly matter and that I cherish.

Natalie is truly my little miracle. It has been a little over a month since her latest surgery and she continues to come along in her therapy…at her own pace. She doesn’t like to be made to do things, instead she prefers to learn them…on her terms.

Last Friday she was evaluated by numerous therapists and doctors for signs of any delays in regards to her shunt and the hydrocephalus. I am still waiting for a final report but the consensus seemed to be that she is approximately 2.5 months behind her physical age. This makes sense when you take into consideration she was 6 weeks premature and lost about a month when she was initially hospitalized for the bleed. I believe that in addition to her physical therapy they will be recommending occupational therapy as well. The funny thing, the things that she ‘wasn’t’ doing, I didnt even know she was SUPPOSED to be doing them by this point (i.e. introducing self-feeding with a spoon). We have started working with her in regards to some of the things that she ‘isnt’ doing and know that she will pick them up quickly. Doctor’s seem to expect all kids to be on this set level, if they’re not doing the things they are ‘supposed’ to be doing than there is a problem with the child. Its crazy, Natalie is my first child and I had no idea that she should be starting to use a spoon and learn shape sorting…now I know so I have started introducing those things to her.

Leave a Reply

