My Journey…Redefined (Pt. 1)

footprint

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”
― Lao Tzu

I’ve always thought I knew where I was going, at least in general terms. That journey always included a family, a home, and a vision of a career in public service (whatever form that might take over time). Through the years, this is the trajectory I have taken. Despite some bumps and turns in the road, I am currently blessed with an amazing husband, 3 beautiful kids, and a civil service career in a field I didn’t know existed 8 years ago and I do enjoy (most of the time). However, for the last couple of years, I have found myself wondering if there might be something slightly different out there for me.

I have found myself in a quandary as to where to go and even where to start. I am the one in my family with the “traditional” job with benefits which makes jumping off the cliff into the unknown a little more difficult. I have spent countless hours researching, talking, and evaluating different options and possibilities. I have prayed for guidance and change, any kind of change, but have felt little direction.

If I had to pinpoint a moment where I felt the beginning of a shift in my journey I would have to say it probably began in the fall of 2013. My friends were pursuing their own journey redefinition towards fostering and adoption. An opportunity had presented itself for them to be able to move out of their condo and purchase a house. Because of my experience with planning and construction, I was asked if I would be willing to do a home inspection on the house they were considering purchasing. It was a question I had never been asked before and an option I had never really considered. Based on my experience with my own home inspectors, I knew I would not be qualified to give them the type of inspection they needed and I recommended they find a home inspection professional who would be of more help to them (the house they were considering ended up having major issues that I would not have been experienced enough to find but their inspector did and saved them a major headache if they had purchased that house).

While I was not qualified to help them in their situation, an idea was born in me. I decided at that moment that maybe I should become a licensed home inspector and I could use that as an income producing vehicle as I worked on my “other” great idea, to be a historic preservation design consultant…(or so I thought)

One thought on “My Journey…Redefined (Pt. 1)

Leave a Reply

