Childhood Dreams Taking Flight

0523150921aMy lifelong dream has always been to one day be a pilot. When I was a kid, it was an obsession of mine. In fact, up until I hit middle school, my goal was to be a fighter pilot in the Air Force one day.

I’m not sure at what point in my childhood I became obsessed with airplanes. I never even had an opportunity to fly in a plane until I was 22 years old. When I look back at my childhood the desire to fly has always just been a part of me. I think for this I can blame my dad. I can think of no other reason not to. I remember many conversations through the years about my dad’s escapades as a private pilot in his early adulthood. He apparently obtained his private pilot’s license in his early 20’s and even was co-owner of an airplane at the time I was born. He told me that it wasn’t long after I was born that my parents decided to sell their interest in the airplane due to the costs and their growing family (I was kid number 2). While I never had an opportunity to fly with my dad I guess I decided at some point I wanted to follow in his footsteps, I’ve always been a daddy’s girl.

To be honest, I’m scared of heights and flying does scare me. I always have to push aside the fear of falling out of the sky, especially over water (my fear of heights is only second to my fear of drowning). This fear has never kept me from flying commercially and even preferring a window seat over the aisle. However, I’ve never really pursued trying to learn how to fly. I would still talk about it and say that it is something I wanted to do someday. I’m quickly learning that sometimes we have to do something to make our somedays turn into todays.

A year or so ago, I started seeing occasional Groupon and Living Social deals available locally for an introductory flight lesson and ground training. I’ve mentioned this to my husband a few times that this would be a great gift to get for me. I’m not sure he really understood my long dormant dream of learning to fly until recently. For Christmas, he surprised me with one of these specials. I was finally going to be able to fly!

I’m a busy mom with a full-time job and 3 kids so time has a way of escaping me, frequently. I found the deadline for my Groupon deal quickly approaching and I still had not scheduled a time for my flight. It didn’t help that the few times I did try to contact them I had to leave a voicemail that was never returned. Finally, the last week before the deal expired and we were finally able to get through and get it scheduled.
This past weekend, I finally got to fulfill that childhood dream of mine. I got to fly! The only unfortunate thing about finally getting a taste of that dream of mine is that I want more. I want to do it again! I want to obtain my pilot’s license and be a real pilot. That’s not exactly a cheap undertaking.

There is something special about being able to see the world from the air. It’s an experience that is hard to describe in words. I’m more determined than ever to find a way to make this a reality. It may take me awhile because I am practical enough to know that this is an expensive endeavor but I’m going to find a way to make this dream a permanent reality.

I’ve include a couple of pictures from pre-flight below.  Unfortunately, I was too busy trying to fly to take anything while we were in the air.  I was nowhere near comfortable enough with my skills to try to take mid-flight pictures…maybe next time 🙂

0523151029
Here’s the plane that I had the opportunity to fly.

0523150921c
The wing of the plane

.0523150920
This is the instrument panel in front of me.

0523150911
I’m not terribly in love with this particular photo of me but it’s the best picture I have of me actually sitting in the plane getting ready for take off.

Leave a Reply

