Another Anniversary

Time is a cruel taskmaster.  It continues on in its perpetual, relentless cadence; constantly marching forward, stopping for no one.

It has been four years, 48 months, 209 weeks, 1461 days since God decided in his infinite wisdom that the journey of my youngest sibling, my only sister, was complete.  The cycle of life is not supposed to be this way.  I will never pretend to understand why it was her time, she was only 23 years old.

While we were left behind to grieve, we also have hope.  There is no doubt in where she is now.  When she took her last breath here on earth she stepped immediately into heaven.  There have been few others that I have known that have had a faith in God as deep as hers.

There are many things that I wish I could go back and change, many things that I wish I had an opportunity to do.  I wish we had gotten along better, I wish we had understood each other better, I wish we had had an opportunity to be real friends.  I cannot change what never was but I can make sure her memory lives on and that my children know about their Aunt Sunny and how much she would have loved them.

Leave a Reply

